Championship Football Play By Mail PBM

Football Club Management Simulation
 
HomeSiteLog inRegister

Share | 
 

 Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 9:22

Every season I go through the player database and review the PTCR of the players who are currently at unmanaged clubs or in the non-league.

In order to simplify matters for me this year I have simplified the guidelines and removed the three "country groups" I normally use to assign player PTs and CRs. Normally there would be three groups, the top countries like england, italy, brazil etc in the top group, scotland, denmark etc in the middle group and the smaller nations like mali and new zealand in the lower group, but this season I am using the following guidelines, without groups.

World Class player 9999
Full international with 50 full+youth+ghost caps 9797
Under21 international with 50 youth+ghost caps 9794
Full international with 25 full+youth+ghost caps 9595
Under21 international with 25 youth+ghost caps 9594
Full international 9494
Under21/B/C international 9494
Under19 Youth international 9492
Under17 Schoolboy international 9490

Non-internationals rated depending on their current club rating and their age. Current club ratings vary between 92 and 84 depending who they are, for instance top clubs like Barcelona, Chelsea, Man United, Juventus, Inter, Real Madrid, AC milan, Arsenal, Bayern and Tottenham are rated 92 most premiership clubs are rated 90, championship clubs rated 88, league one 86 and league two 84. So if you NEW a non-international youngster from Chelsea in real-life he would be a PT92 and his CR would depend on his age, so would vary between 92 and 84. Most over 23s would be CR=PT.

I've changed it for two reasons 1) makes it easier and quicker for me 2) there seems to be far less difference in modern football between the traditionally big sides like Brazil and the so-called minnows like Bolivia, so i'm moving with the times.

I want to stress the point that THIS WILL NOT AFFECT current players at managed clubs. But it will affect any new players you bring into the game.

The Player Profile report now shows a players' real-life full caps and youth caps and automatically adjusts a players' PTCR ratings based on these numbers so you may need to review these numbers as your players add to their caps in real-life, the 25 and 50 boundaries are the important times to review.


Last edited by Paul Hemmings on Fri 3 Feb - 9:56; edited 7 times in total
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 9:26

This will also affect game 2 of course and some of the guys there have asked me to include their teams in the rerating process, so I shall give you the same option, you may opt into the rerate if you wish, no pressure though it is your choice.

One side effect of this rerate is the reduction in the number of players who must play in your first11 and first18 as many 9797 and 9595 rated players will be rerated to 9494 and therefore no longer have an attitude of 1 or 2.
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 9:27

Obviously there will be a few questions so drop them in here or in a private PM and I'll answer best I can.
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 9:29

Chelsea are the first game one side to opt in to the rerate, it makes sense for him because he has his first11 which he doesnt swap around much and now his fringe players wont be whining at him as much as some have been rerated to 9494 from 9595.

ManCity have also opted in.
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 9:48

I'm expecting a lot of players to go down in PTCR but some will also increase because the system now takes youth caps into account, so for instance, Vurnon Anita at Newcastle in real-life age 27 has 3 full caps and 53 youth caps, he will now move upto a 9797 from 9595. But Ryan Bertrand who was a 9795 will now be 9494 with 9 full caps and 5 youth caps.

The problem with using caps to control PTCR is that it doesn't allow for players being injured or part of the squad and not playing, so I've added an extra field which i'm calling ghost caps for players who were in international squads ( like backup goalkeepers for instance ) but didnt actually win an official cap or were injured and withdrew.
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:09

By the way, any new Brazilian players that come into the game will be rated along the same lines as other players and they will no longer have a minimum PTCR of 9595. Long gone are the days when brazil produced the worlds best players enmasse.

Also the older ( over 29 ) full international players will not have their CR drop below 94 no matter how old they get.
Back to top Go down
Rob@Inter
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 2278
Reputation : 676
Join date : 2009-11-29
Age : 45
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:13

Paul -3 questions

If a player has the potential to be World Class say ...... Donnarumma or someone like that. In his case he has played 1 game for the full national team and is a regular at club level for Milan.  Would his PT CR be 99 94?

If a player, like Bertrand in your example above, went from 97 97 to 94 94 would his skills change?

Finally, same case with Bertrand above, would his WG rating go down?

I see a huge benefit in squad happiness with this idea so seriously considering it.
Back to top Go down
Tom@Charlton
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 3592
Reputation : 1119
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : Nottingham

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:19

Paul Hemmings wrote:
Chelsea are the first game one side to opt in to the rerate, it makes sense for him because he has his first11 which he doesnt swap around much and now his fringe players wont be whining at him as much as some have been rerated to 9494 from 9595.

ManCity have also opted in.



First question, cant get my head around it really why managers would opt in?  I understand it will help the fringe players not demand football etc but if a lot of your rivals don't do it, will you not be at a disadvantage?

For example with Geoff, won't players like Micah Richards, Leighton Baines and Chris Smalling all get reduced to 9595, as all have less than 50 caps (at all levels)?
Back to top Go down
Rob@Inter
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 2278
Reputation : 676
Join date : 2009-11-29
Age : 45
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:26

If the skills  stay the same then they'll still play the same.  Hence my question.
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:29

The more I think about this new system the better I like it cos it better represents what is happening in real-life with plenty of english clubs buying up foreign internationals ( who now be rated 9494 ), some from the smaller countries, to slide into their teams in place of englishmen ( who might only be rated 9090 ).
Back to top Go down
Tom@Charlton
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 3592
Reputation : 1119
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : Nottingham

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:33

Rob@Inter wrote:
If the skills  stay the same then they'll still play the same.  Hence my question.


I was always under the impression if a 9999 fullback came up against a 9494 wing half/winger then the majority of the time the full back would come out on top?
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:35

Rob@Inter wrote:
Paul -3 questions

If a player has the potential to be World Class say ...... Donnarumma or someone like that. In his case he has played 1 game for the full national team and is a regular at club level for Milan.  Would his PT CR be 99 94?

yes Donnarumma would be 9994.

If a player, like Bertrand in your example above, went from 97 97 to 94 94 would his skills change?

his skills haven't changed so he would play the same.

Finally, same case with Bertrand above, would his WG rating go down?

WG would not go down as that is based on his real-life club.

I see a huge benefit in squad happiness with this idea so seriously considering it.
Back to top Go down
Phil@fulham
International Star - 97/97
International Star - 97/97
avatar

Posts : 804
Reputation : 159
Join date : 2009-11-28
Age : 27
Location : Kendal

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:37

I personally feel that some players in the game have inflated PTCR.


Last edited by Phil@fulham on Fri 3 Feb - 13:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:42

Tom@Charlton wrote:
Paul Hemmings wrote:
Chelsea are the first game one side to opt in to the rerate, it makes sense for him because he has his first11 which he doesnt swap around much and now his fringe players wont be whining at him as much as some have been rerated to 9494 from 9595.

ManCity have also opted in.



First question, cant get my head around it really why managers would opt in?  I understand it will help the fringe players not demand football etc but if a lot of your rivals don't do it, will you not be at a disadvantage?

For example with Geoff, won't players like Micah Richards, Leighton Baines and Chris Smalling all get reduced to 9595, as all have less than 50 caps (at all levels)?

Baines has over 50 caps incl ghost caps, so he'd be 9797.
Smalling has over 50 caps he'd also be 9797.
Richards would be down from 9999 to 9997. 

It wont affect players of this calibre, most only youngsters and fringe players.
Back to top Go down
Tom@Charlton
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 3592
Reputation : 1119
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : Nottingham

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:44

Does PTCR matter in terms of a 9797 playing directly against a 9999 or is it all down to skills?
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 10:52

Tom@Charlton wrote:
Does PTCR matter in terms of a 9797 playing directly against a 9999 or is it all down to skills?

all skills mate Smile
Back to top Go down
Tom@Charlton
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 3592
Reputation : 1119
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : Nottingham

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 11:09

Paul Hemmings wrote:
Tom@Charlton wrote:
Does PTCR matter in terms of a 9797 playing directly against a 9999 or is it all down to skills?

all skills mate Smile


Thanks, if that's the case then surely Rob would prefer Donnarumma to be rated at 9494 than 9994 as he could then reach his total skills?
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 11:17

Tom@Charlton wrote:
Paul Hemmings wrote:
Tom@Charlton wrote:
Does PTCR matter in terms of a 9797 playing directly against a 9999 or is it all down to skills?

all skills mate Smile


Thanks, if that's the case then surely Rob would prefer Donnarumma to be rated at 9494 than 9994 as he could then reach his total skills?

not quite sure what you mean, but a PT99 could get 150 total skills whereas a PT94 could only get about 85. a 9994 could get 150 ts with about 85 current skills of the 150 total.
a 9494 could get 85 ts with all 85 trained up fully.


Last edited by Paul Hemmings on Fri 3 Feb - 11:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Tom@Charlton
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 3592
Reputation : 1119
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : Nottingham

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 11:20

Paul Hemmings wrote:
Tom@Charlton wrote:
Paul Hemmings wrote:
Tom@Charlton wrote:
Does PTCR matter in terms of a 9797 playing directly against a 9999 or is it all down to skills?

all skills mate Smile


Thanks, if that's the case then surely Rob would prefer Donnarumma to be rated at 9494 than 9994 as he could then reach his total skills?

not quite sure what you mean, but a PT99 could get 150 total skills whereas a PT94 could only get about 85.

I was always under the impression that a player whose PTCR was equal could always reach their maximum skills when individually trained, whereas a player whose PTCR is different couldn't quite reach their maximum level.  Is that not the case?
Back to top Go down
Tom@Charlton
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 3592
Reputation : 1119
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : Nottingham

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 11:27

Sorry, I'm making this hard work I know.

At the end of the day if skills and wage ratings aren't affected then there are no advantages/disadvantages to opting in or staying out?

If that's the case then opting in would be better I guess to get the whole game on a level footing?
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 12:27

Some players are currently over rated at 9999 and have the skills to match those ratings, if you opt in and these players are rerated then they will also lose skills. Some players are over rated at 9999 but have the correct skills so they will not lose skills.

The only players in your current first18 who would be downrated would Mignolet and Moreno. Mignolet from 9797 to 9595 but his skills wouldn't be affected. Moreno would be hardest hit under the new rules, 9997 down to 9595 with only 13 combined caps, he would lose skills too down from 97 levels at 100 to 95 levels at 85.

You wont gain anything by opting in as you have your wages under control so you need to stay opted out. Players will eventually move and then I will re-rate them.
Back to top Go down
Tom@Charlton
World Star - 99/99
World Star - 99/99
avatar

Posts : 3592
Reputation : 1119
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : Nottingham

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 12:38

Thanks mate, appreciate the help.  I'll stay out then.
Back to top Go down
Phil@fulham
International Star - 97/97
International Star - 97/97
avatar

Posts : 804
Reputation : 159
Join date : 2009-11-28
Age : 27
Location : Kendal

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 13:13

How will this affect potential transfers then? Because say a player is transfered between managers and gets reassessed and gets his ptcr downgraded. Then the receiving manager would have to know the potential downgrade? Also how does it affect swap bid. So if we move a 9997 or 9999 to a unmanaged or reality club does there current PTCR get used in the deal or the recreated PTCR ?
Back to top Go down
Phil@fulham
International Star - 97/97
International Star - 97/97
avatar

Posts : 804
Reputation : 159
Join date : 2009-11-28
Age : 27
Location : Kendal

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 13:38

Would this not potentially be better to be optional now but compulsory at the EOS?
Back to top Go down
Paul Hemmings
Games Master
Games Master
avatar

Posts : 21414
Reputation : 930
Join date : 2009-12-02
Location : Cornwall

PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   Fri 3 Feb - 13:52

Phil@fulham wrote:
How will this affect potential transfers then? Because say a player is transfered between managers and gets reassessed and gets his ptcr downgraded. Then the receiving manager would have to know the potential downgrade? Also how does it affect swap bid. So if we move a 9997 or 9999 to a unmanaged or reality club does there current PTCR get used in the deal or the recreated PTCR ?

transfers between managers wont be affected unless one of the managers has opted in and I have had time to check all his players, in which case I would expect him to tell the other person involved in the deal.

swapbids are only done with reality/unmanaged clubs and will use the players PTCR as listed on any scout reports you do before you do the swapbid. Old scout reports may become slightly outdated as a result of this once it gets into full swing.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...   

Back to top Go down
 
Season 27 Week 10 ANNUAL REVIEW underway...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Championship Football Play By Mail PBM :: General Game Discussion-
Jump to: